[NetBehaviour] Reading Nauru Files 2019

Helen Varley Jamieson helen at creative-catalyst.com
Wed Jul 17 11:30:06 CEST 2019


I am participating as a reader in this 24h event on Facebook this Friday
(might start on Thursday for some). Your attendance/support on the day
would be greatly appreciated by the 70+ readers from around the world.

READING THE NAURU FILES 2019

>From 9am Nauru Time on 19 July until 9am on 20 July 2019 – ATTENTION:
time and day will vary according timezones – people from around the
world will read the leaked reports contained within The Nauru Files as
part of a 24-hour networked performance live streamed on this Facebook
event page: https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971

Please note that the date and time of the performance will vary
depending on your location. To check/convert the date and times into
your timezone, please this online time zone converter:
http://bit.ly/32j4lDW 

Feel free to share the event amongst your networks
https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971

++++++++++++++++


INFORMATION ON THE PROJECT
READING THE NAURU FILES 2019

The Nauru Files are leaked reports from staff (Save the Children
teachers, caseworkers, recreational staff and some may have been written
by security) relating to abuses, self-harm, and neglect of refugees,
including children, who have been detained for 6 years and indefinitely
by the Australian Government. Refugees and people seeking asylum who
tried to reach Australia by boat on or after the 19th of July 2013 were
deported by the Australian government to camps on Nauru and Manus
Islands (3-4.500km away from Australia). Currently, 12 people have died
and mental health has reached alarming and catastrophic levels on both
prison-islands.

This networked performance commemorates 6 years to the day of the
“indefinite detention” of people who attempted to arrive by boat to
Australia since the 19th of July 2013 and have been sent into “offshore
processing centres” on Nauru and Manus islands.

By reading this document we hope to urge the Australian politicians to:
- Close the camps
- Bring people to Australia to be processed fairly and swiftly
- Speak to and about refugees and people seeking asylum with respect and
humanity, respecting the Rule of Law, the International Human Rights
Chart, the 1951 International Refugee Convention & 1967 Protocol. 

This networked performance builds on previous Reading the Nauru Files
networked performances, which were:
– A 24h networked performance live on Facebook with 50 people from
around the world on the 19 July 2018 commemorating 5 years of
"indefinite detention"
https://www.facebook.com/events/281177502625005 and
http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2018

– An 18h networked performance live on Facebook by James Cunningham and
Suzon Fuks on 19 July 2017 commemorating 4 years of “indefinite detention”
http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2017

======================================
The Nauru Files were first published publicly by the Guardian and are
available online https://www.theguardian.com/news/series/nauru-files 
======================================

During the event, we will be using the hashtags
#NauruFilesLive as well as 
#6YearsTooMany #CloseTheCamps #LetThemGo
 

*START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 19th OF JULY:*

- Nauru Time, NRT (UTC + 12) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 09:00

- Brisbane, Australia AEST (UTC + 10) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 07:00

- Moscow, Russia MSK (UTC +3) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 00:00

- Tokyo, Japan JST (UTC + 9) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 06:00

- Beijing, China CST (UTC + 8) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 05:00


*START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 18th OF JULY:*

- Los Angeles, USA PDT (UTC – 7) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 14:00

- Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 21:00

- New York, USA EDT (UTC - 4) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 17:00

- London, UK BST (UTC + 1) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 22:00

- Paris, France CEST (UTC +2) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 23:00


========================================================

READERS' NAMES: Alice Owen, Alisi Liva-liva, Alison Cornyn, Alison
Jeffers, Alister Lownie, Amaranta Osorio, Anna Fairley, Anthea
Falkenberg, Beth Weinstein, Billy Shannon, blackrose flower, Brian
Cavanagh, camilla boemio, Carol Humber, Charlotte Parallel, Cherry
Truluck, Claire Oconnor, constanza, Daniel Pinheiro, Dulce Munoz, Ed
Mortimer, Elisabeth Lebailly, Erin Beatson, Frederika Tsai, Greg
Giannis, Helen Varley Jamieson, isabelle arvers, James Cunnigham,
Janaina Matter, Jazmin Ochoa, Julie Chenery, Julie Vulcan, Kaylah Amiga,
Kara Beavis, Karenza Ebejer, Katarina Djordjevic Urosevic, Kathleen
Janne Tuimaseve and students: Tristan, Raven, Liam, Nick, Eli, Paige,
Tahlia and Brooke (Noosa Christian College, yr 11), Leah Shelton, Lena
John Gomez, Lisa Kelly, Lyn Cunningham, Molly Hankwitz, Nasim Khosravi,
Ola Johansson, Pali Singh, Patrick Lichty, Rita Marcalo, robin
taubenfeld, Sandra Muller, Scotia Monkivitch, Sonja van Kerkhoff,
Stephanie Dick, Susan Reid, Suzon Fuks, Therese Collie, Thida Mwin,
Tracey M Benson, Trudy Hairs, Victoria Bansey, William Fisher and Zoe
Sharman
-- 

helen varley jamieson

helen at creative-catalyst.com <mailto:helen at creative-catalyst.com>
http://www.creative-catalyst.com
http://www.upstage.org.nz

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.netbehaviour.org/pipermail/netbehaviour/attachments/20190717/f0282f23/attachment.html>


More information about the NetBehaviour mailing list