[NetBehaviour] Reading Nauru Files 2019

Ruth Catlow ruthcatlow at gmail.com
Fri Jul 19 16:36:21 CEST 2019


Watching now. Very powerful

On Wed, Jul 17, 2019 at 10:30 AM Helen Varley Jamieson <
helen at creative-catalyst.com> wrote:

> I am participating as a reader in this 24h event on Facebook this Friday
> (might start on Thursday for some). Your attendance/support on the day
> would be greatly appreciated by the 70+ readers from around the world.
>
> READING THE NAURU FILES 2019
>
> From 9am Nauru Time on 19 July until 9am on 20 July 2019 – ATTENTION: time
> and day will vary according timezones – people from around the world will
> read the leaked reports contained within The Nauru Files as part of a
> 24-hour networked performance live streamed on this Facebook event page:
> https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971
>
> Please note that the date and time of the performance will vary depending
> on your location. To check/convert the date and times into your timezone,
> please this online time zone converter: http://bit.ly/32j4lDW
>
> Feel free to share the event amongst your networks
> https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971
>
> ++++++++++++++++
>
> INFORMATION ON THE PROJECT
> READING THE NAURU FILES 2019
>
> The Nauru Files are leaked reports from staff (Save the Children teachers,
> caseworkers, recreational staff and some may have been written by security)
> relating to abuses, self-harm, and neglect of refugees, including children,
> who have been detained for 6 years and indefinitely by the Australian
> Government. Refugees and people seeking asylum who tried to reach Australia
> by boat on or after the 19th of July 2013 were deported by the Australian
> government to camps on Nauru and Manus Islands (3-4.500km away from
> Australia). Currently, 12 people have died and mental health has reached
> alarming and catastrophic levels on both prison-islands.
>
> This networked performance commemorates 6 years to the day of the
> “indefinite detention” of people who attempted to arrive by boat to
> Australia since the 19th of July 2013 and have been sent into “offshore
> processing centres” on Nauru and Manus islands.
>
> By reading this document we hope to urge the Australian politicians to:
> - Close the camps
> - Bring people to Australia to be processed fairly and swiftly
> - Speak to and about refugees and people seeking asylum with respect and
> humanity, respecting the Rule of Law, the International Human Rights Chart,
> the 1951 International Refugee Convention & 1967 Protocol.
>
> This networked performance builds on previous Reading the Nauru Files
> networked performances, which were:
> – A 24h networked performance live on Facebook with 50 people from around
> the world on the 19 July 2018 commemorating 5 years of "indefinite
> detention"
> https://www.facebook.com/events/281177502625005 and
> http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2018
>
> – An 18h networked performance live on Facebook by James Cunningham and
> Suzon Fuks on 19 July 2017 commemorating 4 years of “indefinite detention”
> http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2017
>
> ======================================
> The Nauru Files were first published publicly by the Guardian and are
> available online https://www.theguardian.com/news/series/nauru-files
> ======================================
>
> During the event, we will be using the hashtags
> #NauruFilesLive as well as
> #6YearsTooMany #CloseTheCamps #LetThemGo
>
>
> *START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 19th OF JULY:*
>
> - Nauru Time, NRT (UTC + 12) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 09:00
>
> - Brisbane, Australia AEST (UTC + 10) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 07:00
>
> - Moscow, Russia MSK (UTC +3) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 00:00
>
> - Tokyo, Japan JST (UTC + 9) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 06:00
>
> - Beijing, China CST (UTC + 8) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 05:00
>
> *START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 18th OF JULY:*
>
> - Los Angeles, USA PDT (UTC – 7) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 14:00
>
> - Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 21:00
>
> - New York, USA EDT (UTC - 4) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 17:00
>
> - London, UK BST (UTC + 1) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 22:00
>
> - Paris, France CEST (UTC +2) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 23:00
>
> ========================================================
>
> READERS' NAMES: Alice Owen, Alisi Liva-liva, Alison Cornyn, Alison
> Jeffers, Alister Lownie, Amaranta Osorio, Anna Fairley, Anthea Falkenberg,
> Beth Weinstein, Billy Shannon, blackrose flower, Brian Cavanagh, camilla
> boemio, Carol Humber, Charlotte Parallel, Cherry Truluck, Claire Oconnor,
> constanza, Daniel Pinheiro, Dulce Munoz, Ed Mortimer, Elisabeth Lebailly,
> Erin Beatson, Frederika Tsai, Greg Giannis, Helen Varley Jamieson, isabelle
> arvers, James Cunnigham, Janaina Matter, Jazmin Ochoa, Julie Chenery, Julie
> Vulcan, Kaylah Amiga, Kara Beavis, Karenza Ebejer, Katarina Djordjevic
> Urosevic, Kathleen Janne Tuimaseve and students: Tristan, Raven, Liam,
> Nick, Eli, Paige, Tahlia and Brooke (Noosa Christian College, yr 11), Leah
> Shelton, Lena John Gomez, Lisa Kelly, Lyn Cunningham, Molly Hankwitz, Nasim
> Khosravi, Ola Johansson, Pali Singh, Patrick Lichty, Rita Marcalo, robin
> taubenfeld, Sandra Muller, Scotia Monkivitch, Sonja van Kerkhoff, Stephanie
> Dick, Susan Reid, Suzon Fuks, Therese Collie, Thida Mwin, Tracey M Benson,
> Trudy Hairs, Victoria Bansey, William Fisher and Zoe Sharman
> --
>
> helen varley jamieson
>
> helen at creative-catalyst.com
> http://www.creative-catalyst.com
> http://www.upstage.org.nz
> _______________________________________________
> NetBehaviour mailing list
> NetBehaviour at lists.netbehaviour.org
> https://lists.netbehaviour.org/mailman/listinfo/netbehaviour
>


-- 
Co-founder & Artistic director of Furtherfield & DECAL Decentralised Arts
Lab
+44 (0) 77370 02879

*Furtherfield *disrupts and democratises art and technology through
exhibitions,
labs & debate, for deep exploration, open tools & free thinking.
furtherfield.org <http://www.furtherfield.org/>

*DECAL* Decentralised Arts Lab is an arts, blockchain & web 3.0 technologies
research hub

for fairer, more dynamic & connected cultural ecologies & economies now.

decal.is <http://www.decal.is>

Furtherfield is a Not-for-Profit Company limited by Guarantee
registered in England and Wales under the Company No.7005205.
Registered business address: Ballard Newman, Apex House, Grand Arcade,
Tally Ho Corner, London N12 0EH.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.netbehaviour.org/pipermail/netbehaviour/attachments/20190719/c1605093/attachment.html>


More information about the NetBehaviour mailing list