[NetBehaviour] Reading Nauru Files 2019

Annie Abrahams bram.org at gmail.com
Fri Jul 19 20:02:02 CEST 2019


it's still ongoing, watch, share and communicate about it, please

On Fri, Jul 19, 2019 at 4:42 PM Alan Sondheim via NetBehaviour <
netbehaviour at lists.netbehaviour.org> wrote:

> I've been watching on and off for hours, except for sleeping; it's
> incessant, horrifying, too close to our own concentration camps in
> amerikkka; too many phrases like 'self-harm' repeated over and over agin.
> Please, everyone, watch this; it's a litany of our own times and places as
> well. -
>
> On Fri, Jul 19, 2019 at 10:38 AM Ruth Catlow via NetBehaviour <
> netbehaviour at lists.netbehaviour.org> wrote:
>
>> Watching now. Very powerful
>>
>> On Wed, Jul 17, 2019 at 10:30 AM Helen Varley Jamieson <
>> helen at creative-catalyst.com> wrote:
>>
>>> I am participating as a reader in this 24h event on Facebook this Friday
>>> (might start on Thursday for some). Your attendance/support on the day
>>> would be greatly appreciated by the 70+ readers from around the world.
>>>
>>> READING THE NAURU FILES 2019
>>>
>>> From 9am Nauru Time on 19 July until 9am on 20 July 2019 – ATTENTION:
>>> time and day will vary according timezones – people from around the world
>>> will read the leaked reports contained within The Nauru Files as part of a
>>> 24-hour networked performance live streamed on this Facebook event page:
>>> https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971
>>>
>>> Please note that the date and time of the performance will vary
>>> depending on your location. To check/convert the date and times into your
>>> timezone, please this online time zone converter: http://bit.ly/32j4lDW
>>>
>>> Feel free to share the event amongst your networks
>>> https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971
>>>
>>> ++++++++++++++++
>>>
>>> INFORMATION ON THE PROJECT
>>> READING THE NAURU FILES 2019
>>>
>>> The Nauru Files are leaked reports from staff (Save the Children
>>> teachers, caseworkers, recreational staff and some may have been written by
>>> security) relating to abuses, self-harm, and neglect of refugees, including
>>> children, who have been detained for 6 years and indefinitely by the
>>> Australian Government. Refugees and people seeking asylum who tried to
>>> reach Australia by boat on or after the 19th of July 2013 were deported by
>>> the Australian government to camps on Nauru and Manus Islands (3-4.500km
>>> away from Australia). Currently, 12 people have died and mental health has
>>> reached alarming and catastrophic levels on both prison-islands.
>>>
>>> This networked performance commemorates 6 years to the day of the
>>> “indefinite detention” of people who attempted to arrive by boat to
>>> Australia since the 19th of July 2013 and have been sent into “offshore
>>> processing centres” on Nauru and Manus islands.
>>>
>>> By reading this document we hope to urge the Australian politicians to:
>>> - Close the camps
>>> - Bring people to Australia to be processed fairly and swiftly
>>> - Speak to and about refugees and people seeking asylum with respect and
>>> humanity, respecting the Rule of Law, the International Human Rights Chart,
>>> the 1951 International Refugee Convention & 1967 Protocol.
>>>
>>> This networked performance builds on previous Reading the Nauru Files
>>> networked performances, which were:
>>> – A 24h networked performance live on Facebook with 50 people from
>>> around the world on the 19 July 2018 commemorating 5 years of "indefinite
>>> detention"
>>> https://www.facebook.com/events/281177502625005 and
>>> http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2018
>>>
>>> – An 18h networked performance live on Facebook by James Cunningham and
>>> Suzon Fuks on 19 July 2017 commemorating 4 years of “indefinite detention”
>>> http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2017
>>>
>>> ======================================
>>> The Nauru Files were first published publicly by the Guardian and are
>>> available online https://www.theguardian.com/news/series/nauru-files
>>> ======================================
>>>
>>> During the event, we will be using the hashtags
>>> #NauruFilesLive as well as
>>> #6YearsTooMany #CloseTheCamps #LetThemGo
>>>
>>>
>>> *START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 19th OF JULY:*
>>>
>>> - Nauru Time, NRT (UTC + 12) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 09:00
>>>
>>> - Brisbane, Australia AEST (UTC + 10) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 07:00
>>>
>>> - Moscow, Russia MSK (UTC +3) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 00:00
>>>
>>> - Tokyo, Japan JST (UTC + 9) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 06:00
>>>
>>> - Beijing, China CST (UTC + 8) - Fri, 19 Jul 2019 @ 05:00
>>>
>>> *START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 18th OF JULY:*
>>>
>>> - Los Angeles, USA PDT (UTC – 7) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 14:00
>>>
>>> - Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 21:00
>>>
>>> - New York, USA EDT (UTC - 4) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 17:00
>>>
>>> - London, UK BST (UTC + 1) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 22:00
>>>
>>> - Paris, France CEST (UTC +2) - Thur, 18 Jul 2019 @ 23:00
>>>
>>> ========================================================
>>>
>>> READERS' NAMES: Alice Owen, Alisi Liva-liva, Alison Cornyn, Alison
>>> Jeffers, Alister Lownie, Amaranta Osorio, Anna Fairley, Anthea Falkenberg,
>>> Beth Weinstein, Billy Shannon, blackrose flower, Brian Cavanagh, camilla
>>> boemio, Carol Humber, Charlotte Parallel, Cherry Truluck, Claire Oconnor,
>>> constanza, Daniel Pinheiro, Dulce Munoz, Ed Mortimer, Elisabeth Lebailly,
>>> Erin Beatson, Frederika Tsai, Greg Giannis, Helen Varley Jamieson, isabelle
>>> arvers, James Cunnigham, Janaina Matter, Jazmin Ochoa, Julie Chenery, Julie
>>> Vulcan, Kaylah Amiga, Kara Beavis, Karenza Ebejer, Katarina Djordjevic
>>> Urosevic, Kathleen Janne Tuimaseve and students: Tristan, Raven, Liam,
>>> Nick, Eli, Paige, Tahlia and Brooke (Noosa Christian College, yr 11), Leah
>>> Shelton, Lena John Gomez, Lisa Kelly, Lyn Cunningham, Molly Hankwitz, Nasim
>>> Khosravi, Ola Johansson, Pali Singh, Patrick Lichty, Rita Marcalo, robin
>>> taubenfeld, Sandra Muller, Scotia Monkivitch, Sonja van Kerkhoff, Stephanie
>>> Dick, Susan Reid, Suzon Fuks, Therese Collie, Thida Mwin, Tracey M Benson,
>>> Trudy Hairs, Victoria Bansey, William Fisher and Zoe Sharman
>>> --
>>>
>>> helen varley jamieson
>>>
>>> helen at creative-catalyst.com
>>> http://www.creative-catalyst.com
>>> http://www.upstage.org.nz
>>> _______________________________________________
>>> NetBehaviour mailing list
>>> NetBehaviour at lists.netbehaviour.org
>>> https://lists.netbehaviour.org/mailman/listinfo/netbehaviour
>>>
>>
>>
>> --
>> Co-founder & Artistic director of Furtherfield & DECAL Decentralised Arts
>> Lab
>> +44 (0) 77370 02879
>>
>> *Furtherfield *disrupts and democratises art and technology through exhibitions,
>> labs & debate, for deep exploration, open tools & free thinking.
>> furtherfield.org <http://www.furtherfield.org/>
>>
>> *DECAL* Decentralised Arts Lab is an arts, blockchain & web 3.0
>> technologies research hub
>>
>> for fairer, more dynamic & connected cultural ecologies & economies now.
>>
>> decal.is <http://www.decal.is>
>>
>> Furtherfield is a Not-for-Profit Company limited by Guarantee
>> registered in England and Wales under the Company No.7005205.
>> Registered business address: Ballard Newman, Apex House, Grand Arcade,
>> Tally Ho Corner, London N12 0EH.
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> NetBehaviour mailing list
>> NetBehaviour at lists.netbehaviour.org
>> https://lists.netbehaviour.org/mailman/listinfo/netbehaviour
>>
>
>
> --
> *=====================================================*
>
> *directory http://www.alansondheim.org <http://www.alansondheim.org> tel
> 718-813-3285**email sondheim ut panix.com <http://panix.com>, sondheim ut
> gmail.com <http://gmail.com>*
> *=====================================================*
> _______________________________________________
> NetBehaviour mailing list
> NetBehaviour at lists.netbehaviour.org
> https://lists.netbehaviour.org/mailman/listinfo/netbehaviour
>


-- 
Constallations <http://constallations.xyz>, *3G(enerations)* with Alix
Desaubliaux, Pascale Barret and Annie Abrahams. Supported by Oudeis. A
conversation in the form of 3 x 3 sessions of brainwish/storm/wash. Mostly
in French.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.netbehaviour.org/pipermail/netbehaviour/attachments/20190719/6d9b0fe1/attachment.html>


More information about the NetBehaviour mailing list