Dear ones,

I hope you are ok and managing this time with empathy, courage and new perspectives. I am one of the people co-hosting this event. If you are interested in participating in it, please email me asap :)
sending love,
Suzon

=======================
READING NAURU FILES 2020

From 10am Nauru Time on Sunday 19 July until 10am on Monday 20 July 2020 (time zones vary), people from around the world will read the leaked reports contained within The Nauru Files as part of a 24-hour networked performance live streamed on this Facebook event page https://www.facebook.com/events/263905304913957

Please note that the date and time of the performance will vary depending on your location. To check/convert date and times into your timezone, please use this tool: https://bit.ly/NauruFiles2020-time
======================= 

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION - READING THE NAURU FILES - 24hours - 19July 2020 (check your time and date with converter link, just above)

you'd like to read with your VIDEO LIVE? please send an email asap to
- suzonfuks [at] gmail.com
- Subject: YES
- In the the email, write the following info:
We need these 3 points below to determine which pages you will read:

1-how long can you read, please tick
☐ 15min
☐ 30min
☐ 1h
IF you want to read several times throughout the 24h, tick the duration and let us know how many times.

2-what time is convenient for you (example: 15h)

3-in which city/town you will be on that day
(to help us determine your timezone)

We will send you text, which pages to read & info, 3 days before. Your attendance and support is greatly appreciated. Please share among your networks
https://www.facebook.com/events/263905304913957/
=======================

INFORMATION ON THE PROJECT
READING THE NAURU FILES 2020
 
The Nauru Files are leaked reports from staff (Save the Children teachers, caseworkers, recreational staff and some may have been written by security) relating to abuses, self-harm, and neglect of refugees, including children, who have been detained for 7 years and indefinitely by the Australian Government. Refugees and people seeking asylum who tried to reach Australia by boat on or after the 19th of July 2013 were deported by the Australian government to camps on Nauru and Manus Islands (3-4.500km away from Australia). Currently, 12 people have died and mental health has reached alarming and catastrophic levels on both prison-islands.
 
This networked performance commemorates 7 years to the day of the “indefinite detention” of people who attempted to arrive by boat to Australia since the 19th of July 2013 and have been sent into “offshore processing centres” on Nauru and Manus islands.

 
BY READING THIS DOCUMENT, we hope to urge the Australian politicians to:
- Close the camps
- Bring people to Australia to be processed fairly and swiftly
- Speak to and about refugees and people seeking asylum with respect and humanity, respecting the Rule of Law, the International Human Rights Chart, the 1951 International Refugee Convention & 1967 Protocol.


NOTE: SINCE LAST YEAR, children formerly detained on Nauru, are now in community detention in Australia, and men who were still on Manus, are now detained in Port Morsby. Altogether, 400 people are today unlawfully still detained offshore. #7yearsTooLong #GameOver


THIS ONLINE READING builds on previous Reading the Nauru Files networked performances, which were:

- A 24h networked performance live on Facebook with 70 people from around the world on the 19 July 2019 commemorating 6 years of "indefinite detention" https://www.facebook.com/events/320063375568971 and http://suzonfuks.net/reading-the-nauru-files-2019/

- A 24h networked performance live on Facebook with 50 people from around the world on the 19 July 2018 commemorating 5 years of "indefinite detention" https://www.facebook.com/events/281177502625005 and http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2018

- An 18h networked performance live on Facebook by James Cunningham and Suzon Fuks on 19 July 2017 commemorating 4 years of “indefinite detention”
http://suzonfuks.net/reading-nauru-files-2017
 
The Nauru Files were first published publicly by the Guardian and are available online https://www.theguardian.com/news/series/nauru-files
 
As this is a networked online reading, the start times and dates vary depending on your time zone. Please find the start times and dates in some selected time zones below. Your attendance and support would be greatly appreciated.

=============================================
During the event, we will be using the hashtag #NauruFilesLive #7YearsTooLong #GameOver #LetThemGo
=============================================

START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 19th OF JULY:

- Nauru Time, NRT (UTC + 12) - Sun, 19 Jul 2019 @ 10:00
- Brisbane, Australia AEST (UTC + 10) - Sun, 19 Jul 2019 @ 08:00
- Paris, France CEST (UTC +2) - Sun, 19 Jul 2019 @ 00:00
- Moscow, Russia MSK (UTC +3) - Sun, 19 Jul 2019 @ 01:00
- Tokyo, Japan JST (UTC + 9) - Sun, 19 Jul 2019 @ 07:00
- Beijing, China CST (UTC + 8) - Sun, 19 Jul 2019 @ 06:00
 
START DATES IN SOME TIME ZONES ON THE 18th OF JULY:
 
- Los Angeles, USA PDT (UTC – 7) - Sat, 18 Jul 2019 @ 15:00 = 3pm
- Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) - Sat, 18 Jul 2019 @ 22:00 = 10pm
- Santiago, Chile (UTC - 4) - Sat, 18 Jul 2019 @ 18:00 = 6pm
- New York, USA EDT (UTC - 4) - Sat, 18 Jul 2019 @ 18:00 = 6pm
- London, UK BST (UTC + 1) - Sat, 18 Jul 2019 @ 23:00 = 11pm

CONVERT date and times into your timezone: https://bit.ly/NauruFiles2020-time
==================



Suzon Fuks

+61439929028

I acknowledge the country, culture and traditional custodians of the land upon I walk, work and live, the Turrbal and Jagera peoples.
t takes 12000 litres of water to make 500 grams of chocolate!